Top Ten Books That Have Left a Lasting Impression

top books 2014 crop

Books are a wonderful way to relax and recharge. I enjoy escaping with one, when I can find a quiet moment, snuggling into a corner and immerse myself into some quality literature. A good book has the power to teach, inspire, surprise, encourage and change an outlook on life. Here are my top ten books that have left a lasting impression.

  1. Philippians
    Paul’s letter the Philippians would have to be one of my favourite books of the Bible. His focus on joy even in suffering, his endurance and passionate love for the Church is truly inspiring. I have committed numerous verses from it to memory and enjoy discovering new treasures within it each time I read.
  1. My Seventh Monsoon – Naomi Reed
    Influenced by Ecclesiastes 3:1-11 Naomi takes the reader on a journey through the many seasons of life she has experiences while serving the people of Nepal, with her husband, as a physiotherapist and later as a homeschool mum. She is an amazing story teller and as she looks back on the seasons of joys and those of sorrows she declares the faith and truth that God has revealed to her along the way. I had tears as a read some of her hardest moments, nodded along with aspects that I can relate to and laughed aloud at the many misadventures that are part of cross cultural work. She has also written other books and I highly recommend them all.
  1. Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No-Good, Very Bad Day – Judith Viorst
    You are never too old to read a children’s book. Everything goes wrong for Alexander this day and can’t we all relate to those days where nothing seems to go right. There are those days you just want to disappear and go somewhere else, where everything will be better. Yet what resonates with me the most is this line at the end of the book. “Mom says some days are just like that. Even in Australia.” Being an Australian myself it reminds me that bad days are not going to magically disappear if I went to another place, or even returned to my passport country. Everyone has bad days. It’s a great book for teaching resilience.
  1. The Hiding Place – Corrie ten Boom
    The true story of how Corrie ten Boom and her family assisted Jews during the Second World War and her journey through imprisonment, survival, dependence and forgiveness is truly inspiring. Corrie humbly shares her struggles, the faith of her sister and ultimately the love of God. She truly saw God’s truth shining through the darkest of times. Reading her incredible testimony, of how God worked in and through her, is just remarkable.
  1. Murder of Roger Ackroyd – Agatha Christie
    My first Agatha Christie novel and the book that sparked my love for an old fashion crime novel. I have multiple audio books and dvds of mysteries with Miss Maple and Hercule Poirot and this book was the one that started it all. The murderer in this one took me by surprise, yet on my second read I could see how cleverly Christie had woven the murderous plot together. I haven’t found a crime writer that I enjoy more and will often pack one to read (or listen to) while travelling.
  1. North and South – Elizabeth Gaskell
    Even better than Jane Austen. A period romance novel with a hard-hitting commentary on social issues that are still relevant today. This is no sugar coated love story. Plus I can relate to Margret’s culture shock to the industrial city in the North and the courage she sees in the poor factory workers that she befriends.
  1. Foreign to Familiar – Sarah Lanier
    I was recommended this book when I first moved to Cambodia and have bought at least 10 copies to share with others. Lanier writes about culture differences using the terminology hot and cold cultures. It is a really easy read and was so helpful with better understanding why others may think or respond in a different way. I don’t even own a hard copy any more, only the one on my Kindle, because it is that good I keep giving it away.
  1. When Helping Hurts – Steve Corbett and Brian Fikkert
    This book really challenged me to consider the implications of my actions and the actions of others who long to serve the poor. It got me to reflect on the big picture and long term effects rather than the quick fix plans that many may have to attempt to solve issues. The heart is there but the results can be more harmful than helpful. I now ask questions and try to consider strategies that will empower the people that Christ loves rather than creating further hurt through my misguided attempts to make the world a better place. Highly recommended to any cross cultural worker.
  1. The Freedom of Self Forgetfulness – Timothy Keller
    “…the essence of gospel-humility is not thinking more of myself or thinking less of myself, it is thinking of myself less.”
    As a self-confessed people pleaser and a struggler with comparisons this book really convicted me about letting go of others perceptions of me, or even what I think of myself, and to surrender my identity to Christ. My own pride and insecurities attempt to fill up the void that only He can fill. I was highlighting away and couldn’t put the book down, the words paired with God’s truth were both challenging and liberating. Just writing this reminds me that I should read it again.
  1. The Wounded Healer – Henri Nouwen
    As I share about how God has ministered to me though wounds and brokenness and my desire to walk alongside others that are hurting many have suggested reading this book. I finally bought myself a copy, started reading and completely understand why. I see my own brokenness and instead of wanting to hide it I desire to use it to serve others in a way of bringing healing. This book speaks to the things I have been pondering for so long and challenges me to continue to pursue that desire to bring healing, through the wounds and ultimate healing found in Christ, to a wounded world.

What is in your top 10? What books have left a lasting impression on your life?

Linking up with Velvet Ashes at The Grove where the prompt this week is “Top 10”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Top Ten Books That Have Left a Lasting Impression

  1. Beth Everett says:

    Great list Meagan! Will have to check into some of these.
    And I am an Agatha Christie fan too!

  2. I was excited to see that I’ve read half of the books on your list. 🙂 I loved North and South, too, for the reasons that you did. Her culture shock and the way she relates to the factory workers. I love how she defends the South but then tells someone later (after she’s been in the North awhile) that she doesn’t think he would like it in the South, and also says she loves the bustle in the North – so she CHANGES – which is so good for us to realize that we usually come to appreciate places, things, and people over time. And maybe not be so hard on ourselves (or others) when our first reactions to something new aren’t favorable.

    I’m adding a few of your top ten to my list of books to read. 🙂

Leave a comment